“Shubby’s” Rookie Of The Year!

India’s Shubhankar Sharma has made the grade – he has been declared the European Tour’s Rookie of The Year for 2018.

The 22-year old India now joins Sir Nick Faldo, Colin Montgomerie, Sergio Garcia, Ian Poulter, Brooks Koepka and others to be named the Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year.

Sharma became the youngest Indian to win on the European Tour – by more than six years – when he won the Jo’burg Open title in December 2017, aged 21.

Sharma sealed his place in The 2018 Open Championship courtesy of his victory at Randpark Golf Club and added a second European Tour title two months later after carding a final round of 62 to win the 2018 Maybank Championship in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

He carded an impressive result at the WGC – Mexico Championship when he finished tied ninth, slipping with a 74 on the final day. His other top 10 finishes include the Indian Open (tied-7th) and the Volvo China Open (tied-14th). He is currently 26th on the European Tour money list with season’s earnings of €1,152,832.