“Rambo” Rahm Is The Best!

It had to happen and it was just a matter of time – the swashbuckling Spaniard, Jon Rahm (pictured) has been declared the European Tour’s Golfer Of The Year!

Rahm was selected by a panel comprising members of the golfing media as the winner of the prestigious annual award after a superb season in which he won two Rolex Series events, defended his national Open title and became the first Spaniard since Severiano Ballesteros to finish the year as European Number One after sealing the Race to Dubai title in a dramatic finale to the 2019 campaign.

The 25-year-old’s remarkable consistency throughout 2019 gave him the opportunity to win the Race to Dubai for the first time in his career at the final event of the season, the DP World Tour Championship, Dubai – an event he previously won in 2017.

Rahm became just the second Spaniard in history to win the Harry Vardon Trophy as European Number One, following in Ballesteros’s footsteps – who won the Tour’s Order of Merit for the sixth and final time in 1991. Rahm now joins Ballesteros (1986, 88, 91) and Sergio Garcia (2017) as the third Spaniard to receive the European Tour’s Golfer of the Year award.