Cantlay’s Laughing All The Way To The Bank!

Here’s a guy who started off the final round of the 2021 FedExCup Play-Off ranting about the scoring system in place for the series. After his put down of the scoring rules in play, he goes off to win the final tournament in the play-offs and claims the richest prize in professional golf.

The man in question is the rather low-profile Patrick Cantlay (pictured) – a man who does not display too much emotions when he plays golf. Just last week, he won the second leg of the play-offs, the BMW Championship which perched him in the pole position for the Tour Championship with a ten-point handicap which in itself is a huge advantage. That said, he played a steady golf and finished with a wire-to-wire win to pick up a whopper of a check for US$20 million!

The victory was no walk in the park for Cantlay who had the reigning world number one, Jon “Rambo” Rahm breathing down his neck. The 29-year-old American held his cool to ultimately prevail to win the Tour Championship and walk away with the FedEx Cup title.

This stunning win follows last week’s victory over Bryson DeChambeau when he won in a six-hole playoff.

Rahm started the final round with a six-stroke handicap, four behind Cantlay. He narrowed that lead and kept right behind Cantlay, making it a two-man battle to the end.

The winning score was 21-under par and after the win, Cantlay said: “It was tough, it definitely felt different than any other week. It was the longest lead I’ve ever held.” Cantlay is a first-time winner of the FedExCup, which was won by Dustin Johnson last season, and Rory McIlroy in 2019.

American Kevin Na came third (16-under), while Justin Thomas finished fourth (15-under), with Olympic champ Xander Schauffele and Norway’s Viktor Hovland tied for fifth one shot further back, and a shot ahead of Bryson DeChambeau at 13-under.

This is what the field of 30 players claimed from $46 million playoff pool:

1: $15,000,000 – Patrick Cantlay
2: $5,000,000 – Jon Rahm
3: $4,000,000 – Kevin Na
4: $3,000,000 – Justin Thomas
T5: $2,500,000 – Xander Schauffele, Viktor Hovland
6: $1,900,000
7: $1,300,000 – Bryson DeChambeau
8: $1,100,000 – Dustin Johnson
T9: $950,000 – Abraham Ancer, Billy Horschel
10: $830,000
T11. $750,000 – Daniel Berger, Tony Finau, Jason Kokrak
12. $705,000
13. $660,000
T14. $620,000 – Rory McIlroy, Sergio Garcia, Cameron Smith, Louis Oosthuizen
15. $595,000
16. $570,000
17. $550,000
T18. $535,000 – Harris English, Sam Burns
19. $520,000
T20. $505,000 – Sungjae Im, Jordan Spieth
21. $490,000
T22. $478,000 – Erik van Rooyen, Corey Conners, Scottie Scheffler
23: $466,000
24: $456,000
25: $445,000 – Patrick Reed
T26: $435,000 – Hideki Matsuyama, Stewart Cink, Collin Morikawa
27. $425,000
28: $415,000
29: $405,000 – Joaquin Niemann
30: $395,000 – Brooks Koepka (WD)